Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Heating element isn't working

Heating element isn't working

Model Number: Wed5310sq0
    Brand: Whirlpool

This morning, my dryer stopped heating. I checked the continuity on everything in the main back panel and it all beeps. The fuse, heating element, etc.. The dryer is getting 220 incoming, 110 at each post. I had it plugged in and the heating element is getting 110. The dryer turns on fine,
    Spins, everything is cleared out. Heating element doesn't glow...

Any thoughts

Can a heating element have continuity and still be bad?

So i keep reading that the heating element is supposed to get 240v. Does this mean 120v from the top and 120v from the bottom? Mine is getting 120v from the bottom, but nothing from the top, even when the dryer is running. I'm new to this stuff, but the top wire routes through a couple of other things while gung back up and ending at the back of the main dial. Is there supposed to be 120v coming out of the dial and going down through everything and meeting the other 120v at the heating element?

If I'm way off, sorry. Just trying to figure this out and most videos I've found are continuity test related.

Doc
    Try the following.

Try flipping the breaker off/on slowly a couple times. Sometimes you can loose half the line without actually tripping the breaker.
    Check the voltage at the wall receptacle
    L1 to L2 should be 240 volts
    L1 to Neutral and L2 to Neutral, both should be 120 volts.
    If OK
    Unplug the unit and check the wires at the terminal strip in the machine to make sure none are loose or burned out
    If OK
    Check the power at the terminal strip.
    Do this with the heater off and on.
    Be careful as 240 volts is lethal !!!

I cannot find a wiring diagram for this unit,
    You may want to look in the control console that is often where they put them.