Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Thermal Fuse Substitute?

  1. #1

    Thermal Fuse Substitute?

    Was wondering if anyone could give me some insight here.

    I have a device that has a 110*C 5 amp Microtemp fuse opened in it. and can't seem to find a 5 amp equivalent in that temperature. But I do have a 109*C 15 amp on hand. Was wondering if I were to put a 5 amp pico fuse inline with this 109*C @15 amp. would that not have the same protection? I'd have the temperature and amperage covered, so should function the same. What do you think? It seems to me that it would, ,
    but just wanted to get some other opinions

    Thanks, Sydwinder.

  2. #2
    Admin/Technician Doc Ryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    3,439
    It sounds to me like your idea would probably work... but I am not an electrical engineer so I can't guarantee it. What kind of appliance is this for? Do they not sell the original part anymore? Obviously that would be the best idea. Also, did you find what was causing the fuse to blow in the first place?
    Ryan
    www.PartsDr.com - Discount Appliance Parts & Accessories

    Please help keep our repair forum FREE by purchasing your replacement parts from our online store. Thank you for your support.

    Circle Parts Dr On Google+

    "Like" Parts Dr on Facebook


    Follow Parts Dr on Twitter

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Ryan View Post
    It sounds to me like your idea would probably work... but I am not an electrical engineer so I can't guarantee it. What kind of appliance is this for? Do they not sell the original part anymore? Obviously that would be the best idea. Also, did you find what was causing the fuse to blow in the first place?

    Actually, this is not in an appliance, rather it's in a Fence Charger. No, the parts is not available as a part. requires complete module replacement. I know this wasn't the proper forum to ask, but saw a few folks post about thermal fuses or cutoffs. Was just wondering if anyone might have tried it to offset the price of a complete module. I think this would work and will probably attempt it.

    Appreciate your reply though,
    Thanks, Jay

  4. #4
    Patient
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2
    MicroTemp thermal fuses are only designed to provide one time protection against high temperature. They are NOT designed to provide short circuit protection like a regular fuse. As such, there shouldn't be any problem substituting a 109C versus 110C temperature rated MicroTemp even though the maimum amp ratings are different ... provided that the substitute MicroTemp unit also has an amp rating equal to or higher than the original.
    Last edited by NewYorkTom; 07-09-2014 at 01:17 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. thermal fuse blowing
    By caepperson3 in forum Dryer Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 01:04 PM
  2. Blown thermal fuse
    By oldktmer51 in forum Dishwasher Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2012, 01:11 PM
  3. whirlpool duet dryer keeps blowing out thermal fuse
    By vegas steve in forum Dryer Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 05:15 PM
  4. replaced thermal fuse & dryer still won't start
    By Terri Lee Clark in forum Dryer Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2012, 09:21 AM
  5. Whirlpool Duet dryer keeps blowing thermal fuse [FIXED]
    By harris1411 in forum Dryer Repair
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •