Thread: Whilrpool electric dryer burning out "Push to Start" buttons.

Whilrpool electric dryer burning out "Push to Start" buttons.

Model Number: LER8857EZ0
    Brand: Whirlpool

Hello,

I have a Whirlpool electric dryer model LER8857EZ0 (I think it's s 0 vs an O) that is not working. It first had a problem where it would not start when I hit the push to start button. I smelled a bit of a burning plastic smell. I replaced the switch, and when I did so, I thought I smelled a bit of that same odor from in the area of the control panel when I still had the back of the panel open, but the dryer performed fine. At some point, maybe a week or two later (I don't remember), it failed to start after running other loads successfully and wanted to dry my last load of laundry for the night. I smelled the odor again.

I did not buy another switch or do any other work. I am an amateur who has never worked on appliances before, aside from replacing switches, etc.

Please advise what I should do next, what I should purchase, what else you may need from me, etc.

Kind regards...

Which part number did you replace?
    Ryan

PartsDr.com
    - Discount Appliance Parts & Accessories

Please help keep our repair forum FREE by purchasing your replacement parts from our online store. Thank you for your support.

Check out our Repair Videos on Youtube

"Like" Parts Dr on Facebook

Follow Parts Dr on Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Doc Ryan View Post
    Which part number did you replace?
    It should be WP3398095...the push to start button.

Thank you. My guess would be that the push to start switch is not actually the problem. Do you hear any noise when you push the start button?
    Ryan

PartsDr.com

Please help keep our repair forum FREE by purchasing your replacement parts from our online store. Thank you for your support.

Quote Originally Posted by Doc Ryan View Post